Please Bookmark

Modern Times: Ancient Words

09/09/2021
2Ti 4:1 I charge thee therefore before God, and the Lord Jesus Christ, who shall judge the quick and the dead at his appearing and his kingdom; 2Ti 4:2 Preach the word; be instant in season, out of season; reprove, rebuke, exhort with all longsuffering and doctrine. 2Ti 4:3 For the time will come when they will not endure sound doctrine; but after their own lusts shall they heap to themselves teachers, having itching ears; 2Ti 4:4 And they shall turn away their ears from the truth, and shall be turned unto fables. 2Ti 4:5 But watch thou in all things, endure afflictions, do the work of an evangelist, make full proof of thy ministry.

The times in which we live are categorically strange, on the one hand you have people who are so "woke" that they are able to "cancel culture" while others are so fast asleep, by the time they wake up- this cultural-era, would have long passed.  The Apostle Paul, here tells Timothy to be ready for everyone or every occasion.  That's good advice not just to Pastor Timothy, but for all Christians. Whether we want to call the times, modern or post-modern, we still have to remain relevant. We owe it to the culture to be in-season and out of season. Of late, other voices can be tolerate, except the voice of The Believer. But that doesn't mean we go off and hide somewhere, to the contrary, drastic modern times, demand that be even more relevant.

The highlighted section above speaks to fellow Christians who want modern preachers, for modern times, yet the final admonishion of the soon to be dead Apostle is endure.  As Christians, we must be flexible, but not to bend. While we are to be all things to all people, we still remain, honor-bound to Jesus Christ our Lord. Amen?



1Co 9:19 For though I be free from all men, yet have I made myself servant unto all, that I might gain the more.
1Co 9:20 And unto the Jews I became as a Jew, that I might gain the Jews; to them that are under the law, as under the law, that I might gain them that are under the law;
1Co 9:21 To them that are without law, as without law, (being not without law to God, but under the law to Christ,) that I might gain them that are without law.
1Co 9:22 To the weak became I as weak, that I might gain the weak: I am made all things to all men, that I might by all means save some.

Create your website for free! This website was made with Webnode. Create your own for free today! Get started